March 1, 2018 | Net Health

3 Minute Read

DOT Adds Additional Substances to Drug Test Panel

At the start of January 2018, the Department of Transportation (DOT) added four additional substances to its federally-mandated drug testing panel. With growing concerns regarding the prescription and abuse of opioids, the panel additions were made in direct response to the crisis and trying to minimize a false positive drug screen. DOT recognizes the threat that opioid’s present to public safety, especially in the operation of any kind of transport and/or vehicle. Transportation Secretary Elain L. Chao suggested, “The ability to test for a broader range of opioids will advance transportation safety significantly and provide another deterrence to opioid abuse, which will better protect the public and ultimately save lives.”

The panel, mandated by the Department of Health & Human Services (HHS), now accounts for all the following controlled substances:

1. Marijuana
2. Cocaine
3. Phencyclidine (PCP)
4. Amphetamines/Methamphetamines
5. Opiates (Codeine, Morphine, Heroin)
6. MDMA (Ecstasy)
7. Oxycodone (OxyContin®)
8. Oxymorphone (Percodan®)
9. Hydrocodone (Percocet®)
10. Hydromorphone (Dilaudid®)

Share this post

Subscribe and See More